top of page
  • Writer's pictureIndiana Angus

Young Cattlemen Awarded Angus Foundation Scholarships at NJAS 2021

Over $179,000 in scholarships and awards given at the 2021 National Junior Angus Show

The bar was high for young Angus breeders awarded Angus Foundation scholarships at the 2021 National Junior Angus Show in Grand Island, Neb. Students from across the United States were recognized for their hard work in the classroom and beyond.

“It’s very rewarding to read the applications of young Angus breeders,” Thomas Marten, Angus Foundation executive director said. “Their enthusiasm for the industry and desire to tackle the world should give us optimism for our future.”

A five-member committee consisting of industry experts, Foundation board members, Angus breeders and National Junior Angus Association board members evaluate the applications. The committee considers involvement, participation, leadership, service, career goals and other criteria set forth in the scholarships’ fund agreements.

“These opportunities for youth wouldn’t be possible without our generous donors,” said Marten. “Year after year, through both endowments and Angus Fund gifts, they step forward to encourage our Angus youth in their studies as well as in leadership and career development programs and cutting-edge research to advance the breed.”

Since 1998, the Angus Foundation has awarded more than $3.9 million in undergraduate and graduate scholarships.

For more news, information and to support the mission of the Angus Foundation, please visit A list of scholarship winners follows.

Richard L. Spader Scholarship - $5,000

Mattie Harward – Richfield, NC

Jace Stagemeyer – Page, NE

Angus Foundation Undergraduate Scholarship - $2,500

Ryan Borer – Buchanan, VA

Lynae Bowman – Germanton, NC

Avery Dull – Westminster, MD

Bree Gaffney – Barneveld, WI

Marcie Harward – Richfield, NC

Stuart Lastovica – Salado, TX

Amelia Miller – Gridley, IL

Colby Perry – Prather, CA

Isaac Rhode – Stewartsville, MO

Cammie Rone – Courtland, MS

Eric Schafer – Owaneco, IL

Kristina Scheurman – Warsaw, OH

Jeremiah Steph – Tatum, TX

Claire Stevenson – White Sulphur Springs, MT

Alex Vieselmeyer – Amherst, CO

Jordyn Wickard – Greenfield, IN

Angus Foundation Graduate Scholarship - $5,000

Ryan Callahan – Edmond, OK

Jaden Carlson – Pipestone, MN

Keegan Cassady – Bloomington, IL

Cale Hinrichsen – Westmoreland, KS

Kallie Knott – LaOtto, IN

Angus/Talon Youth Educational Learning Program Undergraduate Scholarship - $5,000

Gordon Clark – Gretna, VA

Madison Cox – Eagle Point, OR

Alexandria Cozzitorto – Olathe, KS

Eva Hinrichsen – Westmoreland, KS

Emma Grace Nowotny – New Braunfels, TX

Clayton Pelton – Paradise, KS

Rylie Philipello – Bryan, TX

Cutter Pohlman – Hereford, TX

Nicholas Pohlman – Prairie Grove, AR

McKayla Raines – Seaman, OH

Angus/Talon Youth Educational Learning Program Graduate Scholarship - $10,000

Maci Mueller – Davis, CA

2021 NJAS - “In A League of Their Own” Scholarship - $500

Catherine Cowles – Rockfield, KY

Ellie Kidwell – Walhonding, OH

Arkansas Angus Auxiliary Scholarship - $500

Hailey Roye – Fayetteville, AR

Jean Ann (Neumeyer) Bojorquez Memorial & Robert & Hollyce Neumeyer Angus Scholarship - $1,000

Matthew Rosman – Creston, WA

Joseph & Susanne Bush/J & S Ranch Scholarship - $500

Cooper Free – Salado, TX

CAB/NJAA Scholarship - $1,500

Cutter Pohlman – Hereford, TX

Adam & Julie Conover Angus Scholarship - $500

Lexi Knapp – Bloomfield, IA

C.L. Cook Angus Scholarship - $1,500

Daniel Williams – Milan, GA

Pat Goggins Memorial Angus Scholarship - $1,000

Alexis Vandeberghe – Cleveland, ND

Oliver A. Hansen Family/Laudmere Farm Angus Scholarship - $500

Allie Bieber – Waukon, IA

James & Mary Lou Henderson/Bradley 3 Ranch Angus Scholarship - $1,000

Dylan Denny- Lubbock, TX

Howard & JoAnne Hillman/ Bon View Farms - State Scholarship - $1,000

Regan Skow – Palisade, NE

Howard & JoAnne Hillman/ Bon View Farms - National Scholarship - $1,000

Zach McCall – Greenville, VA

James E. Horton, Jr. Angus Scholarship - $1,750

Aspen Adams – Union Springs, AL

Layton Adams – Union Springs, AL

Iowa Junior Angus Association – State Scholarship - $750

Morgan Knapp – Bloomfield, IA

Iowa Junior Angus Association – National Scholarship - $750

Samantha Wallace – Kansas, OH

Kansas Angus Association Scholarship - $1,000

Kady Figge – Onaga, KS

Gordon & Robin Keys & Family Maryland Angus Scholarship - $1,000

Avery Dull – Westminster, MD

Gordon & Robin Keys & Family Virginia Angus Scholarship - $1,000

Jenna Hamilton – Buena Vista, VA

Joe Bill Meng Memorial Angus Scholarship - $750

Catherine Cowles – Rockfield, KY

Ed & Wilma Minix/Black Witch Farm Angus Youth Scholarship - $3,000

Hannah Williams – Milan, GA

Montana Angus Youth Scholarship - $2,000

Nicole Stevenson – Joliet, MT

John R. Mrotek Family Technical Education Scholarship - $500

Maguire Rohr – Elbert, CO

NJAA Alumni and Friends Scholarship - $1,750

Hailey Roye – Fayetteville, AR

Mack C. Olson Memorial Angus Scholarship - $500

Craig Becker – Atlantic, IA

Pennsylvania Angus Association Scholarship - $500

Madison Weaver – Ephrata, PA

Roscoe L. Richardson Memorial Scholarship - $500

Grant Fitzgerald - Seven Valleys, PA

John Rucker Family Angus Scholarship - $1,250

Zach McCall – Greenville, VA

Joseph & Ruby Schaff/Schaff Angus Ranch Scholarship - $500

Kourtney Schaff - Saint Anthony, ND

Ray Sims Angus Scholarship - $1,250

Kelsey Vejraska – Omak, WA

Texas Angus Association “Texas Challenge” Scholarship - $1,000

Dylan Denny – Lubbock, TX

Stuart Lastovica – Salado, TX

Kristin Massingill – Hamilton, TX

Vance Uden Memorial Angus Scholarship - $1,000

Kassidy Bremer – Redfield, IA

Cory Watt Memorial Scholarship - $2,000

Nicole Stevenson – Joliet, MT

Western States National Junior Angus Show (WSNJAS) Scholarship - $500

Rachel Smith – Osceola, NE

Richard and Wanda Wilson Scholarship - $1,000

Samuel Henderson – East Troy, WI

DeEtta Wood Memorial Scholarship - $1,500

Justin Wood – Willow Spring, NC

Woodlawn Farms Angus Scholarship - $1,250

Jenna Hamilton – Buena Vista, VA

Commercial Cattlemen Scholarship - $1,500

Owen Gustafson – Browning, MT

Everett Paul – Faith, SD

Avery Roth – New Leipzig, ND

Gary Brost LEAD Award

Tanner Mickey – Taylorville, IL

Amelia Miller – Gridley, IL

Jordyn Wickard – Greenfield, IN

Stan J. Prox Leaders Engaged in Angus Development Award

Reese Anderson – Chrisman, IL

Gary M. Stoller Jump Start your LEADership Award

Grace Tekansik – Minden, NV

Tom Burke Young Angus Achievement Awards

Daniel Humpert – Windthorst, TX

Louisa Scott – Gordon, NE

Joel Harrison Memorial Angus Scholarship (Champion Bred & Owned Cow/Calf Pair)

Miranda Raithel – Falls City, NE

Robert and Marillyn Schlutz Angus Scholarship (Champion Bred & Owned Female)

Kyra Meyer – Blue Hill, NE

– Written by Holly Martin, Angus Communications

About the Angus Foundation: Established as a 501(c)(3) organization in 1980, the Angus Foundation remains focused on its mission to support Angus education, youth, and research. The organization as distributed more than $3.9 million in youth scholarships since 1998 and has also invested more than $1.3 million in beef cattle research in the past decade.

For more information, contact the Angus Foundation at 816-383-5100.

77 views0 comments


bottom of page